When a Florida driver is facing DUI charges, it’s important that they understand the possible consequences of a conviction. Not only can a conviction carry legal repercussions, but it can also cause issues in one’s personal and professional life. Anyone charged with driving under the influence of alcohol should know their rights and understand that they will be given the opportunity to defend themselves in court.
Florida’s DUI laws
Florida considers a BAC of .08 or above to be driving under the influence of alcohol. If someone is facing a first-time conviction for DUI, they may be required to pay a fine between $500 and $1,000 and spend up to 6 months in jail. With a second conviction, the fine increases to between $1,000 and $2,000, and up to 9 months in jail may be ordered. After a second conviction, one may be ordered to place an ignition interlock device on their vehicle at their own expense.
A third DUI conviction that happens within 10 years of a prior conviction may be considered a felony. Drivers may lose their driver’s license and be subject to other penalties. In some circumstances, the court may order one to attend a rehabilitation program.
Seek help when accused of DUI
Having a DUI conviction on one’s record can have long-lasting consequences. It may affect one’s ability to find employment and can also negatively impact one’s personal life. The important thing to remember is that being charged doesn’t automatically mean that one will be conviction. Florida residents facing DUI charges can work with a defense attorney, so they understand how best to defend themselves against the charges.